York Explore – opening soon….

from Explore York website

Exciting news, the date for the grand opening of York’s public library in its new incarnation as Explore York has been set for the 24th May. This blog appeared last year to deliver news of the refurb and redesign project (about 3 minutes before I was going to email to ask if they’d consider blogging the project!). If the Acomb Explore is anything to go by, it’ll be a service that really fulfils its role as a heart of the community. I think that my daughter will be able to grow up with very high expectations of the modern public library which will hopefully be fulfilled. I look back on the public libraries in Sheffield that I visited as child with great fondness but I was an easy win: I was going to use public libraries no matter what; the real task in hand now is to reach out to non-traditional public library users and it’ll be interesting to see how that is addressed.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑